Homemade Lip Balm

Homemade Lip balm

I love lip balm.

I love soft creaminess of my lips after a fresh coat.

I love the subtle flavors and how it can change my mood depending on which one I put on throughout the day.

In the middle of fall and winter I need the extra moisture.

So when I had to avoid all soy products at the beginning of the year I was crushed. Half my tubes of lip balm immediately went into the no pile. 25% of my tubes went into the questionable pile. While they didn’t contain soy according to their lables, it was the one product left out on the company’s ‘allergy free’ list.

I was left with a mere 25% of my tubes. Those were either expensive or dyed bright red. I don’t wear make-up so walking around with cherry red lips has a tendency to make me look like I should be working on a corner somewhere.

I knew I could buy blank tubes so I took to google to find a recipe and found lots of them. To my surprise, I already had the ingredients I needed.

I tried a recipe and it didn’t turn out the best so I tweaked it and created my new favorite lip balm.

This stuff is the perfect blend of softness and creaminess. The only downside is that it works so well I don’t have to apply it several times a day.

It even stays on when I’m drinking. That is a big bonus.

And at less than $1 per tube, it makes a good thrifty gift.

Homemade Lip Balm

Ingredients:

  • 2- 0.15 oz empty lip balm tubes. I find mine at a local store but you can also find them on etsy.
  • 2-3 grams beeswax
  • 5 grams shea butter
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 capsule vitamin E oil from your medicine cabinet
  • 8-10 drops of your favorite essential oil for scent. It also adds a hint of flavor.
  • Double boiler or small frying pan and small glass bowl
  • Eye dropper

Directions:

  • Heat water in your double boiler. I don’t have a double boiler so instead I use a small frying pan with a small glass bowl. You are making a very small quantity so the bowl doesn’t have to be large but it does need to withstand boiling temperatures.
  • Put beeswax, shea butter, coconut oil and vitamin E into your glass bowl or top portion of your double boiler. Heat until all ingredients are melted.
  • Turn off your burner and remove the pan from the heat. I like to leave my glass bowl in the hot water to help it stay melted a little longer.
  • Add 8-10 drops of essential oil and stir slightly.
  • Using an eye dropper, fill your lip balm tubes. Slightly mound the lip balm over the edge of the tube, but be careful not to allow it to spill over. The surface tension will allow it to be rounded. As the lip balm cools, it settles into the tube. This will keep it from becoming indented into the tube. If you’re not comfortable with this. Add lip balm to the edge of the tube and as it cools add some more to create a smooth top.
  • Allow to sit and cool for about 30 minutes without moving the tubes. After 30 minutes you can place on the caps and move to another location.
  • Lip Balm will be ready to use when completely cool and set–about 1 to 2 hours.

I love making my own stuff and knowing what exactly is in them. Sunscreen and lip balm down. Next up: lotion. I will be sure to share when I find a recipe that works for me!

What have you created recently?

~Crystal

Shared on:

Let’s be friends Blog Hop, Wake up Wednesday, So much at home, Home Matters,

Leave a Reply

