Essential Oils: Why I’m a Believer (testimony)

Essential Oils for my husband

Last week I began a short weekly series on essential oils. You can read Essential Oils 101 here.

This week I wanted to share our story and what turned me from a skeptic to someone who is now slowly stocking her medicine cabinet full of oils.

The end of April 2014, my husband left his job of 11 1/2 years. When he did, we lost all our insurance. He quickly got a new job but there was a 90 day waiting period before benefits began. Even with the new job, we could not afford the COBRA payments of over $1,000 per month.

We were hopeful that his job as a plumbing apprentice and future plumber would become a career that would fully support our family, like his old job did.

By the end of May, he began complaining of pains in his arms. At first they were momentary shooting pains. Soon his hands starting going numb occasionally. Then the pains became constant.

By the middle of June, he was unable to hold a phone or drive without losing feeling from his elbow through his fingertips.

[Tweet “Being a one income family, he continued to work each day through the agony and pain.”]

Without insurance and with him barely making enough to cover our monthly expenses, we couldn’t afford to take him to the doctor.

All I could do is sit at home and pray that his 33 year old body could continue to withstand physical labor intended for 18-20 year olds.

I was desperate to find something that would help.

My husband is used to physical work. At his old job, he oversaw buildings & grounds maintenance at a 20 acre facility. Yes he had a couple employees, but he still did a lot of physical labor. He was used to lifting hundreds of pounds, swinging hammers, twisting and bending all day long.

Now, I had to cut his meat for him simply so he could eat each night. There were times when he could barely use a fork because he lost all feeling and it would slip out of his fingers.

Over the counter pain relievers were not working.

On the verge of him unable to work and feeling backed into a corner, I turned to Google.

I went through his symptoms and came across a few things that fit.

Upon further research, I began to think he had tennis elbow. How could he have tennis elbow? He doesn’t play tennis yet here he was developing a sports injury. Then I ran across this article from the Mayo Clinic.

“Despite its name, most cases of tennis elbow occur in people who don’t play tennis. People whose jobs feature the types of motions that can lead to tennis elbow include plumbers, painters, carpenters and butchers.”

The first job on the list. A quick trip to Walgreens to pick up some tennis elbow support braces confirmed my suspicions.

He had relief for the first time in over a month.

Relief quickly disappeared as I looked at treatment. Recommended treatment included months of physical therapy, cortisone shots, and surgery. We couldn’t afford one trip to the doctor, let alone months of physical therapy.

Needing options, I decided to turn to an essential oil book that I had been casually reading for a few months. I was skeptical but faced with more costly options I looked up tendinitis (aka tennis elbow) in the glossary.

I read a few recipes and made a 25 mile trip to a local health food store to pick up some oils. Thus began our nightly regimen which continues to this day.

I mixed some marjoram with coconut oil to stimulate the tendons/nerves and encourage healing. I also mixed a blend of peppermint, wintergreen, and eucalyptus oils with coconut oil as a topical pain reliever. Think icy/hot relief without the icy or hot sensations. (recipes shared in a few weeks)

Every night when he got home from work I would cut his meat and massage his arms. At first I had to be very light but over time I was able to increase pressure.

Within a few days, the pain started to diminish. Within a week, the numbness began to go away.

[Tweet “Finally we had hope. With #EssentialOils he was healing, and without a costly trip to the doctor.”]

While I was doing my research, I ran across some articles that talked about the Tyler Twist. You can read the article here, but to summarize, it is a study that changed the way they treat tennis elbow.

I researched the exercise, purchased the necessary bar from Amazon for under $15 and figured it was worth a try. At this point, he had some relief and some hope, but we were looking for a way to accelerate it.

At first he could only do one twist a day. Soon he could increase the amounts of repetitions. Last time I asked, he was up to 12-15 repetitions before the pain set in.

It is still a slow process, but so is months of therapy or surgery recovery.

[Tweet “#EssentialOils didn’t just save us a lot of money, but also my husband’s job.”]

I believe if we hadn’t tried essential oils, he would have been unable to continue working. Very soon, he would have been without a job, losing our only source of income.

I purchased all the needed essential oils and the therapy bar for around $50, significantly less than one trip to the doctor.

Like I said last week, essential oils are not for every use, but simply one more tool in the cabinet. A tool I am so thankful to have at my disposal.

Coming up next week: Does brand matter?

 

~Crystal

 

Shared on:

Let’s Be Friends Blog Hop

Home Matters Linky Party

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 09:25:51

    What a great post! I’m glad that the oils helped your husband. I have been thinking about reading up on essential oils lately because I’ve just been hearing a lot of good things about them.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Shirley Wood
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 11:49:44

    My daughter is looking into essential oils to help with anxiety issues. They are quickly becoming quite popular these days. This is a very interesting and insightful posts. Thanks for sharing with us at the Home Matters Linky.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

