Mary–Meddling Mother of Jesus

Granite Stone Water Jar
Ever read a Bible story you grew up with as an adult and notice new things?

Yesterday the girls and I were going through the story about Jesus’ first miracle when he changes water into wine.

To summarize John 2:1-12, Jesus is at a wedding feast with the disciples. His mother Mary is also there. During the feast, they run out of wine. Jesus directs the servants to fill some jars with water. When the master tastes the liquid in the jars, it is the best wine that was to be served for the night. Jesus performed his first miracle of many by turning water into wine.

That story was told to me over and over again as a child. I remember hearing it, but there is a part in there that I never noticed until today.

Why did Jesus perform the miracle?

“When the wine ran out, the mother of Jesus said to him, “They have no wine.” And Jesus said to her, “Woman, what does this have to do with me? My hour has not yet come.” John 2:3-4

I’m not a Bible scholar but to me this sounds like Mary made Jesus aware of the issue.

But she didn’t stop there.

“His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.” John 2:5

Mary meddled. She saw a problem and alerted Jesus to it. When he didn’t seem ready to jump and fix the issue, she sent the servants to Jesus, making it seem as if he’d solve the issue. She gave him work to do.

Makes me look at the story in a different light.

[Tweet “If Mary hadn’t been #meddling, would this still have been Jesus’ first miracle? We will never know.”]

Generally when I read a Bible story and notice new things, I live it out within a few days.

Less than 2 hours later, I was helping the girls with school.

Miss Crafty was working on an East Asia history timeline. She nearly had it done and asked me to look over the timeline and descriptions she’d written.

After looking over it, I told her she needed more details in the descriptions.

  • How much land did Genghis Khan and the Mongolians conquer during his rule?
  • Why did the Chinese rebel and overthrow the dynasties eventually leading to Mao Zedong’s communist rule?
  • Why did Deng Xaioping decide to step away from a communist style economy and allow a free-market economy?

Don’t worry. I didn’t know the answers to those before last week either.

Like the good student she is, she went back to work researching more and adding the necessary details.

Then she checked her rubric (grading outline) before submitting her timeline to her teacher and found this:

“Provide a brief (one sentence) description for each event on your timeline.”

Oops!

Her meddling mother had just created unnecessary work.

She had to go back and edit her timeline again. Thankfully she had done it on the computer so the editing process was easy. However, without my meddling, she would have completed her timeline at least 45 minutes earlier.

It isn’t the first time I have meddled and it definitely won’t be the last. As a mother, it is hard for me to know when to let go and when to help. I want to see the best for my girls and watch them blossom and succeed.

I know what they are capable of and sometimes I feel like with a shove, they will shine.

Often my meddling only creates more work and causes them to be annoyed with me.

 

My main comfort yesterday was knowing I’m not the only meddling mother who has changed her child’s plans.

 

~Crystal

 

Shared on:

Let’s be friends Blog Hop

Wake up Wednesday

Fellowship Fridays

Faith and Fellowship Blog Hop

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carolapv
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 07:53:45

    I noticed Mary this week while studying the first chapter of Luke. We can learn from her responses, her attitude.
    BTW the questions you raised about the timeline are interesting–good to pursue!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Sep 18, 2014 @ 07:24:52

      Mary is someone who is not talked about too often and is frequently forgotten. I know that as I’m raising my girls I’m noticing her more and more. Thanks for stopping by Carol.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Nannette and The Sweetheart
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 07:58:55

    I am your neighbor at Faith and Fellowship today. Good stuff! Never thought of Mary as a meddler, ha, but she WAS a mother so you have a valid point. Blessings!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Sep 18, 2014 @ 07:26:38

      Thanks for coming by neighbor! Mary isn’t discussed too much in the Bible. I’m sure she had many motherly qualities that we all exhibit on a daily basis, they just aren’t recorded so we forget she was normal.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

