A step back in time

IMG_20140901_090051

This past weekend we took a trip to The Husband’s hometown. We haven’t taken a trip as a family for over a year. I can’t remember the last time we took a trip when everyone was mostly healthy so this was a real treat.

With the exception of a couple day trips, The Husband hasn’t visited his family for about 7 years. It was a long time coming. We loaded up in the truck after The Husband got off work Friday afternoon and headed out on the road.

We didn’t go simply to visit family, we went with a mission.

Last fall The Husband’s Grandpa passed away. Since his Grandma is living with others now, the family is selling the house.

IMG_20140901_090310

This isn’t your average house. Walking into this house is like walking into history.

The house is a large farmhouse originally built in the early 1900’s, long before days of electricity and indoor plumbing. Through time it was retrofitted to add lights, indoor bathrooms, and running water. This house has withstood the test of time. This house was built to last.

Each room has large open bay windows with sitting benches. Wood decorates the house from top to bottom.

There are hardwood banisters, molding around the windows and up near the ceilings, and built in desks and cabinets.

The house is large and open, each room naturally flowing into the next with large pocket doors if you want to close some rooms off.

IMG_20140901_090136IMG_20140901_090600

I walked around the house and noticed beautiful things around each corner. From parlor chairs to a full upright piano. From an old sewing machine to silver serving sets. This house is full of things that you see in the museum.

As we crossed the door for what will probably be The Husband’s last time, I couldn’t help but smile and remember. This is the house The Husband had lived in for part of his childhood, the house his mother was born and raised in, the house of his grandparents.

I only had the pleasure of making memories in that house for about 14 years, I can only imagine the memories others hold.

My memories were not of the house. My memories were of laughter filling the rooms, the memories of Grandpa’s stories, memories of my children meeting their Great Grandfather and his love for each precious new addition to the family.

[Tweet “It isn’t the things or location that mattered, but the #love that filled the air of that house.”]

And as we were driving 80 down the interstate heading to our own small house while listening to The Inventor sing Chris Tomlin’s version of How Great is our God in the back seat, I couldn’t help but think of the memories that I’m leaving for my own children.

Am I creating the kind of house that they will long to return to even after I’m gone, simply to walk through the halls and smell the air one last time? Not to gather items or because they want stuff, but because in each dent of the wall, nail hole, scratch in the floor, and stain on the carpet, there is a memory of love.

 

~Crystal

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ellenlandreth
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 10:12:01

    The memory of you will be lost, after the second generation, unless you take the time to record your stories. I hope you are not just writing these posts online but also into a copy to have printed. That is what I am doing with my blog. I create it in a Word document that is all formatted for publication with lulu.com. Right now I am at about 350 pages. I didn’t know Word would go that far but I hope it will go a bit farther. I have about four books of the NT to finish before printing. I do enjoy your writing.

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Sep 05, 2014 @ 07:58:32

      Ellen, I haven’t saved them offline yet but I may some day. One thing I love is recorded stories. While on our trip, my husband received a CD his Grandpa had recorded before his death. It was stories from his life. I watched my husband sit, listen, and laugh to that CD for a couple hours after we got home. I agree, no matter the method, recording stories is so precious and valuable for future generations.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Heather
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 08:22:54

    A Memory Making House…I love that! I’m so glad you were able to go back together!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

