Tea Tree Oil

 

I have always been interested in essential oils and doing things a more natural way. I dabbled from here to there, but I never took the plunge.

About a year ago I started doing lots of research into alternative medicine. A few months ago we lost our insurance when The Husband switched jobs. He got tendinitis. Without insurance to pay for a doctor visit, my interest became a necessity and reality.

I got some essential oils and started doing nightly massages on his arms. He isn’t completely healed but he is improving greatly, and for less than 1 trip to the doctor!

With that success, I built a list of oils to buy, items to collect, and things I wanted to add to my medicine cabinet. I’m not giving up traditional medicine by far but there is a new balance in our family.

One of the things on my list was Tea Tree Oil.

Tea Tree Oil is not a typical essential oil. It isn’t something commonly used to relieve this pain or that ailment, but instead is an antiseptic. It is also used in lots of soap and shampoo.

In short, it’s a germ killer.

Recently I was given the opportunity to try some tea tree oil by Apothecary Extracts (disclosure: they provided the oil to me, all opinions are my own). When I ordered the bottle, I received an email to download a recipe guide with 53 different uses. It gave me lots of different ideas and other ways to put the oil to use.

I will never go back to my old ways of cleaning again.

My go to all-purpose cleaner is a bottle of plain white vinegar. I spray it all over my house. I added some tea tree oil to my bottle and was so thrilled. It cuts through soap scum and grease much more effectively. I also like knowing that it has a germ killing kick.

Tea Tree Oil works

Please forgive my nasty walls. My shower was long neglected and past its cleaning date.

 

My shower was nasty. It is one of those chores that I always put off. It takes a while to scrub out the tub, and it doesn’t ever seem to get clean enough. Many cleaners smell funny and I just don’t like them. I took my bottle of vinegar and tea tree oil to the walls. It cleaned faster and better than most commercial cleaners I’ve tried.

The only thing I don’t like about using it as a cleaner is that it is very clearly listed as not for consumption. I’m fine with this, but I do have to be a little more careful when cleaning in the kitchen. With straight vinegar, I didn’t have to worry about where I sprayed–with this I do.

I’m excited to make some soap, shampoo, and experiment with the many other uses.

I love homemade things because I know all the ingredients what I’m using. Tea Tree Oil has given me another way to do this.

The best part! After the initial investment it is cheaper than buying commercial cleaners. It helps me save money in my budget and makes my patch of grass a little greener.

What do you use to save money while cleaning?

~Crystal

 

Shared on:

Whatever Wednesday

Wake-up Wednesday

 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 12:07:09

    My sister-in-law is recently really into essential oils. I am having a hard time believing that they would work for us and intimidated by the combinations (I got a D in chemistry in high school) but I think maybe I just need more information.
    Are they pure and taken directly from plants? Any idea about the extraction process?
    Maybe this is another post. 🙂
    Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Jul 22, 2014 @ 12:46:11

      Heather, let me work on another post, it may actually grow into more than one. I was debating this because I am so new but perhaps that’s what’s needed. Someone new just learning along the way together. You’ve given me the shove I needed.

      Combining and mixing is as easy as following a basic recipe. They are taken directly from plants and there are a few different extraction processes.

      And I would have failed chemistry in high school if not for a very forgiving teacher. He let me re-do every test after failing each and ever one. I got 1/2 credit on all new correct answers…and I barely managed a C. Oh the stories I could tell, from burning my lab partner’s hair to getting told by all the other students I couldn’t participate in labs anymore…simply observe 😉

      Like

      Reply

  2. Fran Kitto
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 05:28:06

    Hi from your newest liker. Found you from the ‪#‎SoMe2‬ Linky Party. Fran from @travelgenee

    Like

    Reply

  3. Chris Malkemes
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 07:26:54

    Crystal, I’m visiting you from thee angel project.
    Wow! God has given us so many plants and things that are “for our good” we forget in our chemical world. Just plain oils and natural plants make a difference.
    Did you know that Harriet Tubman (run away slave AKA Moses) was a powerful Christian. She prayed for wisdom and guidance to lead slaves to freedom in the Underground Railroad. One day she was with Union Soldiers when they came down with a dreadful illness (many soldiers died in the Civil War from illness than you can imagine). She went out into the woods and asked Jesus to give her wisdom. Looking down at her feet she saw a plant, trusting her Lord, she gathered the plants, boiled them into a tea and gave them to the soldiers. They were cured!
    See, He has given you wisdom too.
    Thanks for sharing. blessings ~ Chris

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Jul 23, 2014 @ 10:55:30

      I did know Harried Tubman was a Christian but had never heard that particular story Chris. Thanks for sharing it! I have always tried to walk a balance between natural healing and chemical healing. I don’t think I’ll ever give up “traditional medicine” but I’m definitely enjoying this added tool in my box so to speak. It is nice to have one more option.

      Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to getting to know you better through Thee Angel Project.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Emily Cook
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 15:50:23

    I LOVE tea tree oil.
    I use it for cleaning and also in my bug repellant! It can help clear up skin too! I have only started learning about these natural remedies in the last year, and I am not against traditional methods, but it is so good to have more tools in my box! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Jul 29, 2014 @ 14:03:01

      That’s exactly where I’m at too Emily. I’m learning but the more I learn the more I like. However, if I need it I will still grab a tylenol or run to the doctor for something. It is nice to have more tools.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Priscila
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 20:28:09

    great tip! I use white vinegar and peppermint or eucalyptus essential oil to clean my floors. I didn’t know tea tree oil was effective to remove heavy dirt now i will try it to clean my floors and bathroom. thanks for sharing. Priscila
    Unfadingbeautyblog.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

