Changes are on the way!

Antranias / Pixabay

The mere title of this blog will make some of my friends cringe. I am living in a year of change. Just when things seem to settle down, more change comes marching into my life.

This is a different kind of change. This is a change to Living in Green Grass–and one I’m choosing to make.

When I dreamed up Living in Green Grass, I dreamed of a place where I could share inspiring stories of everyday people.

Stories that acknowledged the good and bad in life.

Stories that showed joy and happiness in spite of whatever else that was going on.

Your stories.

 

I knew it would take time to build the Living in Green Grass community. I knew I could rely on some friends to help me while I got things going. I hoped that others would then volunteer their stories.

That isn’t happening yet. The stories you hear are stories of my friends or stories I seek out. This is okay, just different than I had planned. I still have dreams of others wanting to join. I’m waiting on God’s time for that.

In the meantime, I fill the blog with my own story. Adding bits and pieces of my everyday life, with the thought that I can taper that back as more people share.

 

[dropshadowbox align=”right” effect=”lifted-both” width=”150px” height=”” background_color=”#e8fbae” border_width=”1″ border_color=”#dddddd” ]I’m spending too much time trying to invent interesting personal stories to write about instead of following my goals–sharing, connecting, and inspiring.[/dropshadowbox]

I have struggled to create well written pieces of my everyday life multiple times a week. I believe the blog and my writing is suffering. I’m spending too much time trying to invent interesting personal stories to write about instead of following my goals–sharing, connecting, and inspiring.

 

I have watched trends over the past few months. These trends show me what you, my readers are interested in. You are definitely interested in the stories. You want to read about others lives. That is so encouraging. It is my favorite part of the blog and nothing will change about that.

 

The changes come from my life stories.

There are so many blogs out there and not enough time to read even a fraction of them. As a blogger, I’m trying to break into a culture where big personalities have already established themselves.

I don’t want to be just another ‘mommy blogger’. There are thousands of those out there. I feel my niche is in sharing unique stories that would otherwise get lost.

Stories of those that don’t want their own blog.

Stories of people who think their lives are boring and mundane.

Stories of average people living in the moment.

Stories you can relate to.

 

So I can concentrate on those stories, I am changing a few things at Living in Green Grass.

 

Change #1

Living in Green Grass will no longer have 5 posts per week. Starting next week, I will post a personal story or something every Tuesday. I hope that by doing this I can get back to creating quality content. Posts that are well thought out instead of just put together.

 

Change #2

My social media presence is going to increase. I’m not going to disappear. I will still post little thoughts here and there about my daily life on both Facebook and Twitter. If you want to hear random things about my daily life, please like and follow me there. (links to both are on the bar to your right)

I am currently doing a #100happydays challenge. I will post up a daily picture on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. I would love for you to join me in this. If you don’t have pictures to share, leave me comments on my picture with your moments. We can be happy together.

 

Change #3

I am going to learn how to host linky parties. You know those blog posts that have links to other blogs on the bottom of them. Once I learn how to do that, I am going to turn my Friday post into a celebration of the little things.

I’m inviting other bloggers to join me and share their little moments from the week. Anything goes as long as they are about real life.

This is exciting because it gives you the opportunity to read other blogs with similar themes. You won’t have to go searching and digging through the internet to find stories about real life, you will be able to find them on Friday’s post.

 

Nothing is going to change about my Thursday post.

These changes allow me to spend more time on the stories. The interview process will not change. I can spend more time crafting and creating stories for you.

As more people want to share their stories, I will expand to multiple days a week. Making this change now gives me time to work toward that goal.

 

I am going to take the rest of this week off and work on behind the scenes things. When I’m back next week, I will be moving to a 3-post week.

I hope that you continue to enjoy Living in Green Grass and that this makes it a better place for everyone.

 

~Crystal

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Candace
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 09:06:16

    It sounds like you are finding your blogging rhythm, Crystal :). When I first started, I was determined to post 2-3 times a week, have daily office hours, comment on a certain number of blogs daily… Now, I’m lucky to post once a week, and I’m fine with that for the moment. I know I need to be more consistent, but like you said, I want to deliver quality content. The quantity is less important to me. It looks like you have a great plan!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Jul 08, 2014 @ 10:03:37

      Quality is a key. We have a lot coming this fall. When I looked at our schedule, I knew something had to change. After a week of prayer and thought, this is the one thing that God laid heavily on my mind. I’m not going anywhere, just taking a 1/2 step back.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Heather
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 20:17:30

    Part of the danger in blogging for me is my own resistance to allowing myself to travel a different route than originally planned. That’s the closet perfectionist in me and some days it’s not so pretty. Thank you for sharing this! I’m excited to read more and to come back and re-read some of your previous Thursday posts.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

