Beginning of a dream, 9 years later

pillow

BeachLife / Pixabay

Nine years ago The Husband, Miss Crafty, and I were settling into our new home. We didn’t have much, but we had each other.

We sat on the floor and on pillows instead of a couch. We used blankets for curtains.

I was pregnant with The Inventor. It was a long hot summer. I laid by fans blowing over blocks of ice to help cool off the house. We relied on the generosity of others. Our new neighbor gave us an old swamp cooler, and when that broke someone else let us borrow a small window AC.

Our house needed a lot of work. The bathtub sprung a leak shortly after we moved in so The Husband patched that. The roof was at the end of its life. The back sliding door wouldn’t open or shut with ease. The curtains blew in the wind because the windows leaked so much. The back yard quickly became overgrown with weeds.

It was our 30 year project house.

We were full of joy and dreams.

We decided the roof needed to be our first big project to tackle.

We saved money for our roof.

The first year it went toward The Inventor’s birth and medical expenses. She was born early. While she didn’t have the medical expenses that lots of premature babies had, there still were some extras.

Over the years, it seemed like there was always something. We had to fix cars, multiple years. We bought a second car one year. The Husband got ill and was in the hospital. Miss Crafty broke her arm really bad and was hospitalized one night. It took surgery to set her bones. We had to have some trees removed out of our back yard because limbs were breaking off during wind storms and landing on our neighbor’s roof.

The list goes on. It seemed like every year there was always something.

So we continued to dream of what our house would become.

This year is the year that dream comes true.

Last Friday they began on our roof. All day I smiled as I heard banging and thumping as they were scraping off our old shingles.

Today they are back. By the end of the day I should have a brand new grey roof.

The beginning of a dream. Turning a 30 year remodel project into my dream home.

dream

ejaugsburg / Pixabay

I have dreams.

Next up is the bathroom where we tear out everything down to the walls. A new bathtub, new flooring, new counters, new lighting–everything.

Then there are the windows and siding. I would love to have windows that didn’t grow ice on the inside during the winter. Windows that I could open up without letting flies in because they have screens.

The carpet is fraying and there are holes in it. It is full of stains. I have some laminate hard-wood type flooring sitting in a room waiting to be installed. Waiting for time and money to finish the project.

Next comes the kitchen. I have dreams and plans for a whole kitchen remodel. One that includes a dishwasher so I don’t have to keep doing them by hand.

And there is the back yard…..

My dream for this house goes on and on.

But as I dream, I look around at what I have.

I have a dry roof over my head with walls and windows that keep out most of the storm. Hand washing dishes gives me a few minutes every day to myself–allowing me to think about life without interruption.

Our house has slowly filled up. We were given a couch and desks. The girls toys have filled up the rest of the space.

The girls are not afraid to break anything or leave marks anywhere because it is not the first stain or hole in the wall. They have room to run and play. They fill this house with laughter and memories.

No matter what this house looks like, or what I dream it can become, there is one fact that will always stand true…

I am blessed.

 

What are some of your blessings?

~Crystal

 

A little something I do to remind myself to be content with what I have:

Standing in contentment in green grass

LoggaWiggler / Pixabay

  • The roofers are here today! After nine years of waiting the day has finally come where I get my new roof.
  • It has been cooler these past few days. I haven’t needed to run the air conditioner which saves us money on the power bill.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 09:05:54

    We replaced half of our roof last year…and plan to do the other half this year. We bought out fixer upper as an investment property, intending to sell in a couple of years and build on a larger plot of land. That was 8 years ago. I am just coming to the point where I feel like this is home, and I’ve stopped thinking about when we will move, because it probably won’t be soon. I am thankful that we have a place to lay our heads, and am finally starting to enjoy our home. Good luck on your reno!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Jun 16, 2014 @ 14:02:13

      It is a long road for sure….we had some moments this spring where I was sure we were moving. I even began packing boxes! I said goodbye to this house and the dream, and am now learning to love it again. Good luck on your house renovations too!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

