Why I Like to Share Stories

Nemo / Pixabay

If you’ve been reading Living in Green Grass for any length of time, you know that I like to post Monday-Friday. I have a daily theme that I stick to. On Thursday I usually share other people’s stories about how they find contentment and happiness in life.

Today I don’t have a story to share.

It is not that I have run out of people to interview or stories to share, it is because I took last weekend off. When I’m writing a post I can write any time during the day, on my schedule. When I prepare Thursday’s post it takes a lot more time and I’m somewhat dependent on other people.

I didn’t do what I should have done to prepare for the weekend off and therefore I don’t have a story to share.

So instead I thought I would share a little more of why this part of Living in Green Grass is so important to me.

The process of creating a story has many steps. Normally, I ask someone I know if they would be willing to allow me to interview them. If they agree, I send them an email with a few questions and wait to hear a reply. From that email, I sometimes have follow up questions before I ever begin to write.

I find it relaxing to write and when I share stores about others I learn new things. I see sides of them that I didn’t know existed. I am inspired to continue toward contentment in every part of my life.

Beyond me, I love encouraging other people. I want to inspire others to stop trying to keep up with the Joneses and start focusing on the beauty around them. I feel like the best way to do this is to share not only my own life, but how other people live too.

Finally, it keeps me focused on others. Instead of constantly looking inward for writing material, I look outward. I get to be inspired by all kinds of people and I love sharing the joy with the world.

Sometimes it is comforting to know that other people struggle too. Instead of creating a picture perfect life, I like to show happiness through the struggle.

I dream of a day when Living in Green Grass is so large that I have to stop sharing many of my own stories and am instead sharing a story about someone else almost every day. I imagine a blog that acknowledges the struggles in life and also celebrates the good times.

It is a lot of work to get there, and I will some day.

If you have a personal story to share or would like to share about someone who inspires you, please let me know. I would love to hear it! You can fill out a short form on the Green Grass Awards tab or here and I will get right back to you.

Together we can encourage others to be a little more content in life.

~Crystal

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    May 29, 2014 @ 08:57:45

    What a lovely idea! I often hit writer’s block and just stop writing if I don’t have anything to say. I never thought to look to other’s experiences.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

