Thank Yourself

These past few Tuesdays I’ve been highlighting some forgotten people who often get little thanks. Today I’m highlighting you.

It is easy to get busy in life and forget to take care of yourself. I know it happens to me all the time. The school year gets rolling, I’m busy juggling this or that, and soon my me-time disappears.

geralt / Pixabay

This past weekend my parents and sister took Miss Crafty and The Inventor on a trip. They had a blast spending time with the grandparents and their aunt. I haven’t heard all the stories yet but I can tell by the smiles on their faces that lots of memories were made.

It would have been easy for The Husband and I to plan something but instead we decided to do nothing. We swung by the store on Friday evening to pick up a few don’t-want-to-have-to-share treats and headed home.

It was quite eye opening how much our diet has changed recently. The Husband and I walked up and down every isle in the store. We passed the chips–nothing looked good. We headed down the soda isle–that didn’t go into our cart either. Honestly, none of it looked appetizing. A year ago our cart would have been loaded with soda, ice cream and chips.

What did we buy?

  • Noodles, bacon & cabbage so The Husband could cook himself some oriental dish that he likes but rarely makes because it contains gluten.
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Salsa to go on the corn chips already at home
  • Orange flavored sparkling water
  • Almonds coated in dark chocolate powder (they were good, but they ended up making me sick)
  • a bag of Starburst–this was the only sugary junk food item we bought

Once we got home, we closed up the curtains, cooked ourselves dinner and lived in the cave, all weekend long.

We played our online game together, caught up on a few episodes of Grimm, and just relaxed. It was refreshing.

Honestly, we didn’t even spend the entire time together. Most of the day I was in our room on my computer and he was out front on his. There were times when I just laid down and rested, being completely lazy. It was about not having any commitments or having to do anything.

I ignored my phone, including texts, and stayed off all social media. I didn’t realize how much of my day is filled with Facebook and other things online. I didn’t have a problem shutting it off, but it made me more aware.

relax and thank yourself

Nemo / Pixabay

I need this every now and then. It is my way to relax and rejuvenate. I forgot about the world and my responsibilities for a while. I took care of myself.

In a life where I think of ways to thank others and am constantly looking for the little ways to make things better for all around me, it is nice to stop every now and then. Stop and say thank you to me.

A 3-day weekend cooped up in your house might not be your idea of relaxation, but it is mine. I encourage you to figure out something low-budget that still lets you relax and spend some time doing that sometime soon. It is worth it!

~Crystal

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    May 27, 2014 @ 11:58:09

    I love a “do nothing” weekend. As an introvert I need them – a lot 🙂 Sounds like a good time! And I try to be off social media on the weekend for the most part – although I do tend to take a lot of instagram pictures and post those 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      May 27, 2014 @ 14:20:08

      Yay! Someone else who understands how nice it can be to sit inside and not crack a door. It was a hard dose of reality getting back to real life today but laundry, dishes, housework, and bills can only wait for so long.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

