Where’s God When Things are Good?

God promises with rainbows

tpsdave / Pixabay

We had a great week last week and are having another good one this week. Good in comparison to the chaos and change that has infected our last few months. Good because the stress of the unknown future is gone. Good because we are at peace and living the status quo–or the daily grind. There have been no surprises, no big decisions, nothing new.

When things are bad or stressful, I find myself deep in prayer. I’m constantly crying out to God for support or guidance. I read the Bible and spend time seeking peace. I crave the status quo and look for an end to the storm.

I turn to friends and ask them for help and rely on them for their listening ears. Bonds are built, friendships are strengthened.

I find comfort through the trials, and when it all ends I find peace.

Things become right and good.

And where does God go?

I become comfortable.

It is easy to get going with my day and forget to pray as often. I don’t need my stability in God right now, so I’m not naturally crying out and depending on Him as much. I’m not seeking Him out in all hours of the day. I’m not craving time in my Bible and often devotional times start to fade.

I’m at peace.

I still talk to my friends, those bonds have been built, but I’m not reaching out to them as much. I become the bad friend–busy in my daily tasks so I leave them aside until I need them again.

I live in a blissful state of whatever, knowing that I’m happy with everything around me.

How easy it is for me to fall back into this state.

 

Philippians 4:4-7 says:

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

 

This is an often quoted verse. For many, it is one of their favorite Bible verses. It reminds us that God is there, in control, and He’s got this. During hard times, that is great. Cry out to God and let your requests be known. This doesn’t say that God will always give in to your requests or that he will always say yes. He will however, give us peace during the storm.

 

That isn’t the end of this passage though. It goes on.

 

Philippians 4:8-9 says:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me–practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

 

To me, this speaks of the good times. The times when it is easy for me to forget about God. To put him on the back burner so to speak. God is still here, He is in all things. This is a reminder to keep looking for Him, to keep looking at what is of God, and keep him on the front of my brain.

So my one word of the year takes a new turn. The first 5 months of this year were spent seeking God, looking at Him saying, “whatever you have for me God, I will do.”

God has answered those prayers and I am living in His whatever. Life is not going to be easy. The Husband is working different hours, he took a pay cut for the next few years, and he starts school in the fall. Our lives have certainly changed and there are many challenges ahead–but we have direction and God gave that to us.

Now it is my turn. My turn to keep my eyes on God, crying out in prayer, not in need but in thanksgiving and praise, finding God in whatever.

As you go through your week, I encourage you to to find God. Seek Him out in everything, not just in the hard times. This week, I’m memorizing Philippians 4:8-9 and using that as a reminder of where God is.

I’m going to find God in whatever

I’m finding God in the Good.

 

Will you join me?

~Crystal

 

Being content in my patch of grass:

Standing in contentment in green grass

LoggaWiggler / Pixabay

  • The Inventor loves frogs. Miss Crafty and The Inventor found their first one of the year on the sidewalk yesterday. It made their day.
  • I love living in a place where we can walk to run small errands. It may take a few extra minutes, but it is nice to get out and stretch the legs every now and then.

 

 

 

This post was shared on:

Fellowship Friday 30 & Self Forgiveness

Faith Filled Friday Link-up

Essential Friday Linkup

Leave a Reply

