End of the school year

werner22brigitte / Pixabay

The school year is wrapping up and there is so much to do. The girls attend an online charter school. That means they are schooled at home, but still part of the public school system.

Every year they get a box of books and school supplies. They also have a teacher that they interact with often. It is a commitment on my part because I am the one who implements curriculum and helps them learn it on a daily basis, but I’m not alone. There are so many people involved in their education.

It seems natural to thank their teachers each year. Even though they aren’t in the classroom with them every day, they do put in a lot of effort to make sure my girls get the best education possible.

In the spirit of Living in Green Grass and saying thank-you I started thinking of all the others who impact a typical school day.

 

Joergelman / Pixabay

The school receptionist/secretary:

We mail in assignments some times. The secretary makes sure the assignment gets to the right teacher. They also answer phones and help with in-office organization. I’m sure there is so much more to their job than I realize. I know without them, the school wouldn’t run as effectively.

PublicDomainPictures / Pixabay

The Principal:

It has got to be a hard job being a principal. You manage teachers, balance child discipline and deal with parents. In the girls’ school, dealing with parents is probably high on our principal’s list. I have each teacher’s direct phone number and email. I can access them at any time–and often I get a same day response. If I ever had a need to talk to the principal, I would expect the same kind of interaction. I imagine it is a tough juggling act dealing with hundreds of parents who have your number and aren’t afraid to call it.

 

geralt / Pixabay

The person who unpacks the books:

The school mails curriculum and school books to the girls each fall. Every spring, we box up the books and mail them back for someone to use the following year. Once they get to wherever they need to be, someone has to unpack our boxes, inventory and credit our account, then file them away.

Our school is part of one of those national online charter schools. There are thousands of students across the nation mailing books back all at the same time. Those books have to go back out again in a few short weeks. It is a job. I think this year I’m going to have the girls slip in a thank-you not to whoever opens our package. I hope it gets seen and brightens the day of whoever is doing this for us.

 

 

Those are a few of the many people that impact my daughters’ education. I know there are countless others. If you have children and they are in school, I encourage you to think of some people who work behind the scenes in often thankless jobs. You would notice their absence, but do you notice when they do a great job?

 

~Crystal

 

Leave a Reply

