Baking Temptations

I had a baking adventure this weekend. I included my recipe at the bottom of this post for those brave enough to try it.

My friend Denise loves Pinterest. She pins all kinds of delicious desserts and goodies that go against my diet. Like many, her Pinterest account is connected to Facebook so my Facebook feed is often full of one delicious looking picture after another.

Most days I can ignore it, knowing I don’t want to go through the new recipe experiment phase. However Saturday I had a screaming sweet tooth. I was holding on strong until I opened up Facebook and saw this from Chocolate, Chocolate and More:

 

That was just the beginning. There was one picture after another. I knew I was in trouble.

I also knew I didn’t have 90% of the needed ingredients in my kitchen to pretend to make something close to that. I did a quick inventory and realized I had only a few base ingredients and a thriving chocolate mint herb plant growing right outside my front door.

After a quick google search, I found some Sweet Tea Cookies. They looked doable and absolutely delicious.

I picked my mint and got to work. The recipe calls for tea brewed in milk. I had almond milk and some delicious sweet tea that a former co-worker gave The Husband. I thought Spicy Chocolate Black Tea would be a great addition to my cookies.

Spicy Chocolate Black Tea

 

I followed the directions, making the necessary changes to turn in into a gluten free, soy free, egg free, dairy free recipe. I was impatient and didn’t wait for the milk to cool completely, but I figured one little short cut wouldn’t throw the entire recipe off.

The problem?

My cookie dough ended up looking like cake batter. What do you do when you are making cookies and find cake batter? Well, make cake of course!

Minty Orange Spice Cake

 

I put it in a 350 degree oven for about 35-40 minutes and it looked delicious. It was hard waiting for it to cool. I was fully intending to frost it, but before I did, I took one little bite.

My small bite

 

Oh Sweetness!!!!

I’m not used to sweets and baked goods any more. That one little bite was enough to kill the sweet tooth for the rest of the day.

The rest of the family enjoyed my cake I made especially for myself all weekend long. It must have been good because there were only crumbs by Sunday evening. Before anyone thinks I’m a baking genius….the cake was good, but it crumbled when I cut it and stacked it on the plate. Next time I need more guar gum.

crumbled cake

 

Minty Orange Spice Cake

Gluten free, Dairy free, Soy Free, Egg Free

2 1/2 Tablespoons ground flax seed

9 Tablespoons cold water

1/2 cup milk

1 Black Tea bag–spiced tea works really well (or in my case, enough loose tea to make a cup plus a ball to place it in)

1/2 cup loosely packed fresh mint leaves

1 3/4 cups granulated sugar

1 cup coconut oil (in its solid form)

1 Tablespoon dried orange peel (or fresh zest)

3 cups brown rice flour

3 teaspoons guar gum

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°.
  2. In a small bowl, mix the ground flax seed and water together. Set aside to allow it to thicken. You will want it to be at least an egg consistency before you use it.
  3. Heat up the milk over medium low heat stirring constantly so you don’t scald it. Remove just before it boils. Add the tea bag and allow to steep for about 10 minutes.
  4. Finely chop the mint.
  5. In an electric mixer, cream together the coconut oil, sugar and mint. Then add the flax seed and water mixture, scraping down the sides of the bowl.
  6. Add the tea milk and orange peel. Make sure the milk is still warm as this will cause the coconut oil to melt (you want it to). Beat until it is well combined.
  7. Beat in the flour, guar gum, baking powder and salt. Scrape the sides of the bowl often to make sure you have an even mixture. It should have the consistency of cake batter at this point.
  8. Pour into a 9×11 non-stick baking pan and bake in the oven on the middle rack for about 35-40 minutes or until the cake is light brown on top.
  9. Remove and allow to cool completely.
  10. Cut and enjoy 🙂

 

~Crystal

 

Right now my patch of grass is green because:

Standing in contentment in green grass

LoggaWiggler / Pixabay

  • Our lives are starting to look somewhat normal. We have had months of stress and changes around here. There is still stress with The Husband’s new job, but it is different. It isn’t the stress of an unknown future.
  • We’ve had several days of unusually hot weather. I don’t want to put the window AC unit in until Memorial Day. I am so thankful for fans right now.
  • The girls know we have been cutting the budget. The Inventor offered me $2 of her long saved birthday money to help out. She has such a generous heart. (I politely declined and gave her other ways she could help out.)
Leave a Reply

