Translate This–Whatever

It is no secret to my friends that I picked Whatever to focus on this year. It has come out of my mouth so often and takes on so many different meanings depending on my tone of voice and context. Sometimes it truly is a way to cope, sometimes it is very flippant, and sometimes it is in prayer.

I was chatting with a multilingual friend a while back. As it often does, whatever managed to find its way into our conversation. She shared with me that in Spanish, whatever can be expressed several different ways depending on what you say. It got me thinking so I looked it up on Spanishdict.com

whatever sign

Whatever:

  • haz lo que quieras: Do whatever you like
  • ¿y eso qué significa? : whatever does that mean?
  • pase lo que pase: Whatever happens
  • lo que tú digas: whatever you say
  • sea lo que sea: Whatever it is, whatever it may be
  • dale lo que quiera: give him whatever he wants

 

So in English, we may simply say whatever, but in Spanish it can be translated 6 different ways. It amazes me that so much can be wrapped up into one tiny word.

As a personal challenge, I decided to break down whatever and see how it applies to my life. (please forgive me if I butcher the Spanish or misinterpret it. I am English speaking and working with an online English to Spanish translator.)

 

haz lo que quieras

Do whatever you like. I don’t really feel like this applies in my life. I could go into all the ways that it doesn’t but I’m not going to. Instead I’m going to has lo que quiero and move on…

 

¿y eso qué significa?

Whatever does that mean? I find it interesting thinking of this translation. How many times in life do we wonder why. If you’ve spend any time with a toddler you know that is one of their number one vocabulary words.

As we grow, I don’t think we stop asking why, instead our vocabulary changes and matures with age. It grows more into “whatever does that mean?” and “why is this happening to me?”

Today is The Husband’s last day of work. He has no paycheck coming on the 15th like he has had consistently for the past 11 1/2 years. Our reliable direct deposit is gone. He is going to be home tomorrow morning. For how long? Well, we don’t know. We’ve had lots of leads and slowly each one of them has fallen apart.

I’m left sitting here going why…but at a deeper level. I’m left asking God, “Whatever does that mean?” Where do you want us God? What is in store for us that we cannot see yet?

 

pase lo que pase

Whatever happens. I am a planner and I love to know what is going on long before it does. I get my fingers in the behind the scenes. I don’t care if someone else gets credit, but it often goes my way. I’m not a manipulator, I just like to help plan and direct things to what I feel would be best.

In our current situation, I’ve made lots of plans. In some ways that has helped us be where we are at right now. The Husband and I decided a few months ago to move on. We planned, thought it out, and stocked as much money as we could possibly save. In that way, our planning has made all the difference. We are okay financially for a few months. We don’t have to worry about food on the table, a roof over our heads, electricity or water for a while.

But that is where my planning stops. God is dictating the rest. Every time I make a plan, it falls through. I started packing thinking we were going to move–nope! I thought The Husband would have a job by now–nope!

If I’m going to let God guide my life and dictate His will, I have to be ready for whatever happens.

 

Todo lo que Dios dice

Whatever God says. I changed verb forms and a couple words on lo que tú digas (whatever you say) to mean whatever God says. I’m allowing God to have whatever in my life this year.

Not only do I have to be ready for whatever happens, but I also have to listen to what God is telling me. If I’m not listening, I could completely miss His plan and will in my life.

I started packing boxes for us to move, sure our house was going to sell. Very long and stressful story later, we are not moving. We are staying in this house for a while. It was suggested by some that we move before the house sold. The Husband and I talked and prayed about it, and just felt it was not the right decision.

It would have been great because we would be where we want to live, but we would now be juggling a mortgage, rent on a new house, moving expenses and still no job. Because we were open to whatever God said, we only have a mortgage to pay.

It is hard because sometimes God says no or wait when all we want to do is go. As humans, we dream and make plans, we want to see those dreams come to a reality. Society tells us to, “live your dreams” but what happens if your dream is not what God designed for you. That is a hard cookie to swallow.

It is disappointing to see your dream crumble and fall apart through your fingertips. You should dream and it isn’t wrong to set goals but don’t set them in stone. Living as a Christian means being open to God, listening to Him and willing to do whatever God says.

 

sea lo que sea

Whatever it is, whatever it may be. As God shatters that dream, I’m left with nothing but a pile of dust and broken bits. It leaves me lost and insecure wondering where to head next. When we first bought this house, we planned on living here until we were too old to live on our own. The Husband planned on staying at his job until he retired. We were happy. We were content. We wanted to stay.

Within the past year, all our dreams of the future have slowly crumbled away. It isn’t just the job or the house, but everything that was rooted with that. Dreams of the girls moving away and coming back for visits, dreams of remodeling the house, dreams of designing a back yard, dreams of grandkids (yes, I’m 33 and I went there long before this year).

They are all gone. I’m left with nothing but a raw shell, an empty vessel ready to fill up with new dreams. I’ve allowed myself the one dream of moving but that is it. Right now, that is all I’ll give myself. And that dream is so far out that it could happen when The Husband retires and we’ll still be meeting it.

Being empty leaves me very vulnerable. There is a lot that can get to me because there is so much room inside. And if I dare to dream then I can be broken yet again. That is exactly why I have to give God my whatever.

I will fill myself back up again. I will dream again and work towards those accomplishments. I will give them my all. I want to make sure they are rooted in God and are of His will. As I dream, I have to be open and flexible, I have to listen to God, and I have to be ready for whatever may be. God may say no to a dream again. That may mean I’m doing good enough here that He doesn’t want me to change yet, or it may mean He has a different dream in mind. So many questions, and only one God answer.

 

Darle a Dios lo que quierra

Give God whatever He wants. I changed this one a bit too from dale lo que quiera. People who are not believers in God do not quite understand this concept. Not of my will God but of yours.

As a Christian, I follow God. God asks for one thing and only one thing…whatever.

As I’m processing through all the steps of whatever, whatever does it mean, whatever happens, whatever God says, whatever it is, and whatever it may be, I’m left with a choice.

I can do whatever I want or I can be open to God and do whatever He wants.

I choose to give God whatever He wants. That may mean some sacrifices. It means that, for now, we are not going to move, it means that we have a time of financial uncertainty, it means that I don’t get to plan my future. It means that I face the scary unknown with only one assurance, God knows.

Everything is not perfect and I have my moments of doubt. Last week was a prime example of that. I’m human, I stress and I break down, but my foundation is strong. It doesn’t take me long to get back to whatever.

I have a great support network of awesome friends who love me when I’m up and love me more when I’m down. That is what gets me through times like this. They remind me to keep my faith in God and trust that He will make it all alright.

As long as I’m walking in whatever, walking in faith, open to what God wants then everything will be okay.

 

UPDATE:

I edited this post to add our update. The Husband found a job a week later. Read about it here: Surprise! God was planning.

 

~Crystal

 

In today’s patch of grass:

Standing in contentment in green grass

LoggaWiggler / Pixabay

  • I’m so thankful for my dietary issues. I stress eat and with all the changes I’ve been craving sweets. We don’t have any ingredients in the house to make anything sweet that I can eat. In a very twisted way, my food issues are helping me maintain my weight.
  • Today the girls are done with their curriculum. That doesn’t mean their education is done for the year, it just means we have a little more flexibility to do the fun stuff.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ellenlandreth
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 09:42:16

    I’m really enjoying getting to know you all over again Crystal as the mature wife and mommy. And I like what I am learning. I am most of all thankful for your growing faith. Your blog is like reading a book, one chapter at a time. I can’t wait for the next.

    Like

    Reply

    • Crystal
      Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44:27

      Thank you Ellen. I’m glad you’re enjoying reading it. All I can do is write from the heart and soul. It is who am I, nothing more, nothing less.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Giving God my Whatever « Living in Green Grass Living in Green Grass

Leave a Reply

