I love my UPS man!

It has become a joke between The Husband and I. My UPS delivery driver is awesome and goes the extra mile to give good customer service. Considering the FedEx man doesn’t knock on the door or ring the doorbell, The Husband teases me, wondering what I did to get such great service.

UPS truck

Used with permission. By Rudolf Stricker (Own work (own photo)) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Things my UPS man does for me:

  • He honks his horn when he pulls up to the house so I can meet him at the door.
  • He always has me sign for packages–even if no signature is required.
  • He always greets me with a smile and asks how my day is going.
  • If we’re not here, he hides my package. He turns over empty garbage cans, hides it behind bushes, and rearranges things in the front of my house to keep my package safe and secure.
  • He remembers me. It may have something to do with the fact that he’s been our driver for almost 9 years but a lot of it is because he cares. Once we got a large package and I wasn’t home. He hid it behind both our garbage cans and tried to disguise the rest behind some bushes. A week later, on the next delivery, he asked if we’d gotten the package. He was worried about it. That’s a driver who takes his deliveries seriously–he goes home at night and worries if the customer will find their package before someone else does!
  • He never drops or throws my boxes. He always sets them down gently and treats them with care.

 

So the big mystery of how I get such awesome service from the UPS man….

 

I try to make his job easier and thank him every chance I get.

 

  • I meet him at the door when he honks, and if I make it there too early I meet him at his truck so it saves him a little time.
  • I always smile and thank him for the delivery. He is doing me a favor and brings the packages with a smile. I don’t have to make his day worse by complaining about the minor things (not that I have any).
  • In the winter time I keep a box of hand warmers by my front door. When he delivers on really cold days, I hand him a pair, or 2, or 3. Those trucks get cold and it doesn’t take much, but he sure appreciates them. In fact last year, he thanked me on a return visit for the extra warmth that day. Yep, he got another handful to get him through a few more cold days.
  • In the summer time I’ve been known to give him a bottle of cold water. Cold and wet drinks make all the difference in the heat.
  • Once, I was watering the lawn when he dropped off a package. He asked if he could run through my sprinklers. Of course I let him! Didn’t bother me, and made his day a little better. It was a hot day and over 90 before noon. I’m sure he was dry before he made it back to his UPS truck.

 

Our delivery drivers are people, and they should be treated as such. Thanking them and appreciating them every now and then gives them value in an often thankless job. Good drivers like my UPS man go above and beyond.

If you have a good one like I do remember to thank and randomly appreciate them. It brightens their grass and will probably make yours a little greener too.

 

~Crystal

 

Leave a Reply

