A Mouse in my House!

Poetry is not usually my method of writing, but there is something about a mouse in the house that screams, Dr. Seuss style POEM.

Enjoy….

 

Mouse in the house

Hans / Pixabay

 

Ode to the Mouse

 

Anythings better than 10:30 at night

Getting up to pee and instead getting a fright

As I’m sitting there I see a streak of brown

A mouse on the floor, scampering the only sound

 

Thankfully I managed to keep in the screams

As the girls slept nearby happily having their dreams

The Husband is away for the entire night

I must get brave and deal with this sight

 

So what is the best thing that I can do?

Curl up in my bed with my phone and a shoe.

I stressed and I cried and made a phone call

The Husband didn’t know of a trap–none at all.

 

I turned to Facebook and shared with my friends

In hopes that this was a nightmare and it soon ends.

I got lots of love, support, and even a text

As this stupid mouse scared me and left me vexed.

 

A mouse got in my house

Terrified and crying at 11 PM.

 

I had to conquer this fear as my bladder was full

It may be a small mouse, but I’m not gullible

This creature has a massive amount of power

Especially in the middle of the night at this hour

 

I won’t go into details but I managed the feat

Without seeing the mouse again from my seat.

With all the lights on I made it back to bed

A very long night was surely ahead.

 

It was One in the morning when I fell asleep

Sure it was coming at me with each creek.

I don’t remember the night much after that

Until my alarm at 5 said to get up–stat

 

I laid in bed keeping my feet off the floor

Trying to fall back asleep and let myself snore.

Suddenly I felt something brush on my back

I gave that poor blanket a really hard whack.

 

I know the mouse can’t get up on my bed

But that doesn’t mean it can’t mess with my head.

I got up, put my shoes on, and took a step of faith

I had to delude myself into feeling safe.

 

I turned on lights as I walked in the hall

Sure not to scream or take a fall

As I entered that dark scary bathroom

Certain I was stepping into my doom

 

I walked in and not even 10 seconds later

I was in a corner terrified of the instigator.

It ran and it streaked straight up the hall

Not in the middle, but hugging the wall.

 

I didn’t want to know where it scampered off to

It was away from me, I breathed big, “whew”

For the next 2 hours I hid in my room

Until the girls got up and they learned of their doom

 

Clean clothes were in the front of the house

And their mom wouldn’t go there because of a mouse

They grabbed hands and were much braver than me

Walking through the house when I wanted to flee

 

They got their breakfast–I only heard one scream

The Inventor decided to practice–oh she’s mean

Breakfast and showers, we’re ready for our day

Now if this darn mouse would get out of my way

 

8 AM came so it was off to Ace.

The hardware store was the helpful place

That had the devices to save my sanity

And rescue my family from this great calamity

 

I didn’t care that I had to walk

My goal was to get rid of the thing that caused shock

It was cold and windy with a little bit of rain

But, “Kill that mouse” was all that was my brain

 

I love a small town hardware store

They are friendly and help when you walk in the door

He pointed me straight to what I would need

To help me on my mission–to help me succeed

 

A quick walk home with all my supplies

Traps and Dr. Pepper to help me vitalize.

Slapped on some peanut butter and got them set

Now to wait, and try not to fret

 

My mouse killing supplies.

My mouse killing supplies.

 

 

While waiting I discovered droppings by my pans

He ran through my kitchen and changed the days plans

This was a problem I couldn’t ignore

Time to wash dishes and scrub the floor

 

We’ve lived in this house for 9 long years

And only 3 times I’ve had to conquer my fears

It is amazing since we live right by a farm,

A river and a canal add to our neighborhood charm

 

I know they’re around, but they stay outside

Rarely coming in to find places to hide

But when they do, they don’t last long

Because once in my house, they’ve done something wrong

 

About 1:30 PM we heard a clink

It sounded like silverware falling in a sink

The Inventor ran to check out the sound

And squeeled with surprise by what she found

 

mouse trap

PublicDomainPictures / Pixabay

 

“It’s in the trap but it’s still twitching,

I looks like its neck is really itching.”

With horror I realized the thing was alive

How in the world did it survive?

 

I decided to wait about another minute

I couldn’t take anymore–I’d reached my limit

The Inventor was sitting on the floor with pride

She’d sat there and watched until the thing died

 

Miss Crafty was hiding with me in despair

Wondering why The Inventor had so much care

“It’s cute,” she proudly informed me

“Can I have one” she desperately tried to plea

 

I reminded her of one big rule,

Mice as pets are not cool

You may have one when you move out

But I’ll never visit, I won’t come about

 

Now I was left with one last quest

To throw away this unwelcome guest

Once again I filled up with fear

Just at the thought of going near

 

Then I realized I had been blessed

With a tom boy who would help when her mom was stressed

I gave her a bag and and a blue rubber glove

And sent her to do a job I was scared of

 

She rescued Miss Crafty and I with pride

Taking her job with great stride

She even laughed a little and giggled with joy

Shaking the trap like it was a toy

 

I’m not ashamed to admit or to say

I depended on an 8 and a half year old this day

I don’t have to worry, I don’t have to dread

THE MOUSE IS GONE–IT IS DEAD!!!

 

~Crystal

 

In my patch of grass:

Standing in contentment in green grass

LoggaWiggler / Pixabay

  • I know I just wrote a whole poem about it, but a mouse is my biggest fear. I’m terrified of the things. The first time there was a mouse in my house I called my mom and had her drive 25 miles to rescue the girls and I until The Husband could take care of it. The second time The Husband saw it and I was oblivious to the fact until I found it dead in a trap–I still screamed. I’m proud of how I dealt with it this time. Much improved. (and as a side note, I’ll still take spiders landing on my face any day over a mouse)
  • Our truck was in the shop to fix an oil leak. It wasn’t as big of a problem as they thought and cost us half the original quoted bill!
Leave a Reply

