Busy Week

This has been one of the busiest weeks I’ve had in a long time. Miss Crafty and the Inventor had standardized state testing for school 3 days this week. Being a 1 car family, that means taking The Husband to work. But we still had time to have some fun and find some simple pleasure in the week.

 

IMG_20140403_180918

Ice Cream: I haven’t had Ice Cream for nearly a year. Between not eating soy, dairy, gluten, eggs, or artificial sweeteners there are not too many options out there….and the ones that are cost $$$$$$.

It was Miss Crafty’s birthday this week. As a tradition in our family, we do Ice Cream Sundays instead of cake. I splurged and boy was it worth the treat. The down side is that I’m not used to anything sweet so I over ate and felt sick afterwards. At this rate, 1 pint of ice cream could last me a month.

UPDATE: I had some more ice cream on Friday night and ended up sick again Saturday morning. I’m not sure if it is because of something in the ice cream or if I was just getting sick. I may try this again in the distant future. It was a short-lived simple pleasure.

 

IMG_20140331_142558

Miss Crafty gets crafty: There is a reason I call her Miss Crafty. Give her a glue gun, markers, construction paper and scraps of fleece and she creates a doll’s room complete with curtains. I love giving her random materials and seeing what she creates….she’s currently working on a bird house for one of her stuffed animals.

 

 

IMG_20140331_142523

And The Inventor invents: While Miss Crafty was busy building a room, the inventor also got into the craft supplies. Instead of doing a standard art project, she created a puppet with pipe cleaners and notebook paper. It works–she can make it walk and dance. I know she is going to use her creativity and turn it into something beautiful when she grows up.

 

IMG_20140403_175609

My pillow: My pillow was definitely a source of pleasure this week. I didn’t mention it above, but The Husband leaves for work between 3 and 4 AM. When I take him to work, it involves getting up in the middle of the night, loading the girls into the truck praying they go back to sleep, driving 25 miles to The Husband’s work, taking the girls to my mom’s house (a couple of miles further), putting them to bed there, and then taking my shower and starting my morning.

By the time we got home it was between 3 or 4 in the afternoon. I’m not used to 12 hour days. My pillow certainly was a source of peace and comfort this week.

 

Those were 4 of my simple pleasures this week. Leave me a comment and let me know some things that brightened your patch of grass this week!

~Crystal

Leave a Reply

